Tags

, ,

I can’t believe it’s been over a month since I have posted on this blog!  Where did the time go?  I have been working on a few things around the house, like Summer Decor.  One thing I added was a new chalkboard.

An extremely talented friend of mine, Angie, from The Almost Fabulous Cottage had the cutest chalkboard at her house last year, so I had to copy her!  She found an old painting at Goodwill that had a great frame.  She got the painting for a few bucks and turned over the painting and sprayed the back with chalkboard paint.

After looking repeatedly at Goodwill and garage sales for a painting I could do that to, I gave up and decided to make my own (that’s kinda my style).  Frames (without glass) were 50% off at Hobby Lobby a couple of weeks ago, so I grabbed the size I wanted.  I then headed over to Home Depot and had a piece of MDF cut to size.  It worked quite well and my hubby was extra happy that he didn’t have to cut it for me.  The frame was black, so some white spray paint to that and some chalkboard paint to the MDF and voila, a fun chalkboard!Image

While the new chalkboard is more for style, I also use a chalkboard in my kitchen that is very functional (and stylish of course).  This one I found at an antique store for $10 last Spring!  I have a tendency to plan out meals, buy the ingredients, and then in the craziness of day-to-day life, forget what I had planned.

So now I use my cute vintage chalkboard to remind me of what meals I have planned for the week.

Do you have any chalkboards in your house, or perhaps a chalkboard wall?

