Tags

, ,

I finally got a couple of projects finished recently.  I have a bad habit of getting a fabulous idea, starting a project and then not completely finishing before the next flash of brilliance strikes!  Then, a project sits, so close to being finished…

Well, I can now say that two of my picture projects are done!

We have vaulted ceilings in our house, which gives us some large walls to work with.  The first project was a gallery wall at the top of our stairs.  Here’s what it looked like when we first moved in:

I saw an idea with long picture rail shelves that went the length of the wall and that was my original plan.  But, plans change…  In Nov. my Mother-in-Law and I decided to tackle the shelves.  The only shelves I found to fit the space were from Pottery Barn and they were 3′ wide.  I have a 6’+ wall.  So, I figured, just put two, end-to-end.  Easy, right???  Not so much….

We had a very hard time getting two shelves level all the way across.  So, after a tiny bit of huffing & puffing about my project not coming together exactly the way I wanted, I compromised.  We spaced the shelves apart just a little.

I do like the end result and after one of the frames sat blank for months, I finally ordered the last picture and voila, one project complete (although I may end up painting that wall someday)!

The other project was to fill another large wall space at the top of the stairs in the front entry.  Here’s the before…

It took me a while to figure out what I wanted there.  I originally thought some kind of architectural antique, like a big metal piece.  We had a extremely talented photographer (my brother, Todd, from Beautiful Day Images) take family photos in Oct.  They turned out amazing and we used a couple in our Christmas card.  He was telling me that one of the products he really likes is a canvas print.  He said they looked best really large.  Well, I had just the place for a very large print.

It looks a little smaller in this picture than in real life.  I may add a frame to it later to fill up more of the wall space.  But, I LOVE the photo and the colors and the scenery look great in our front entry!

Two projects checked off the list.  Only 134 to go…  🙂

