Tags

,

I was at Target the other day getting Christmas decorating ideas and right next to that area was the seasonal candy isle.  Right on the end were the M&Ms and apparently there is a new variety this year…cinnamon!  I just had to grab a bag (or two) and since I was already breaking my unwritten rule of buying large bags of candy for myself, I snatched up a bag of mint M&Ms too (I already knew they were delicious)!  

So, backing up to last week…  After struggling for a couple of weeks with a sinus infection, I decided to completely eliminate refined sugar from my diet.  My hubby said cutting out sugar would help reduce inflammation, which would help with my head congestion.  Desperate to make some kind of change that would get rid of the congestion, I went cold turkey and stopped using/eating refined sugar.  I have to admit, I did feel better.

BUT, a weekend with a bag of new cinnamon M&Ms was a different story…  I tried them right after I bought them Sat. afternoon.  I was feeling tired and thought to myself, “Well, maybe the chocolate would give me a little pick-me-up!”  Oh, those extra big cinnamon and chocolate pieces were SO good!  Needless to say, I did not stay off sugar Sat. or Sun.  Then I thought, maybe it’s better to just eat the rest of the bag and be done with it!  I didn’t go that far, but I am back to no sugar today.  Maybe they could just be a weekend treat…

I will put out the rest for Thanksgiving and hope my sister-in-law and her family will do me a big favor and finish them up.  They do look very festive in the little yellow pottery bowl on my buffet!

If you like cinnamon and chocolate, they are a great combination (as are the mint variety).

